An update from DisciplesWorld editor and publisher Verity Jones, who left Sunday for Washington, D.C.:

I’m off to Washington, D.C., today to the historic inauguration of Barack Obama as President of the United States.  I’m going on behalf of DisciplesWorld in order to cover the national prayer service on Wednesday Jan. 21, at which our own Sharon E. Watkins, the Disciples’ general minister and president, will preach.  We just learned that Cynthia Hale, pastor of Ray of Hope Christian Church in Decatur, Ga., will also participate in the service. The newly inaugurated president and vice-president will be in attendance as well, of course.

I’m thrilled beyond belief, for Disciples, for our nation.  I’ll be up in the balcony of the National Cathedral for the prayer service with all the other reporters, so I’ll have a bird’s eye view of the service.

I’m going to Washington, D.C., today, however, to find out what Disciples in D.C. are doing to recognize and celebrate the inauguration.

I’ll also attend the swearing in ceremony on Tuesday!  Look for me on television.  I’ll have on a black coat and tan hat — I’ll really stand out from the crowd.

Jones will be providing updates on Twitter, Facebook, the NewsMuse blog, and on DisciplesWorld’s website, throughout the week.

