Church 2.0Whoa…General Assembly is just around the corner!  I know everyone is excited to see old friends and colleagues that they haven’t seen in some time.  And, as usual, there a ton of great resource groups and learning opportunities to be had.  I hope I’ll get to see and meet a lot of you at the Church 2.0 resource group that I’m leading along with Wanda Bryant Willis and Rebecca Woods.  I’m really excited to have the opportunity to discuss what is happening in the world of social media and churches and why it is important.

I need your help, though.  Maybe it’s because General Assembly is less than two weeks away and I’m still working on my part of the presentation, or maybe it’s because the true spirit of church 2.0 is one of collaboration and engagement, but I’m asking you what you want to learn about in the Church 2.0 resource group?  What puzzles you about this new social media thing?  What churches do you know of that are using social media well?  Why do you think these communications trends are so important to the church?  Are they just fads?

Leave some comments below and let me know what your take on social media and churches is.  Remember, no matter what anyone tells you, there are no experts in this subject.  That is one of the beautiful things about it…we are all learning together.  Next Monday, I’ll be back here to talk a bit more about what to expect in the Church 2.0 resource group.  Until then, I look forward to hearing what you have to say and learning about what you want to get out of the resource group.

Will BoydWill Boyd is a social media and new media producer and consultant. His company, Will Boyd Media Solutions, specializes in helping faith groups and non-profits navigate the world of social media, podcasting, and technology to tell their stories to the world. He has worked with Sojourners Magazine, the Disciples of Christ Historical SocietyGoddard College, the Disciples Divinity House at Vanderbilt, and others. Will also recently  finished a bachelor of arts degree from Goddard College that focused on the role of new media and social technologies in the world of sustainable marketing. Will lives in Seattle with his wife, a Disciples pastor.

